Tracking Pixel

Jefferson Community College Website

Aug. 19, 2016:  

Jefferson Community College offices will open to the public at Noon on Wednesday, January 17, 2018, so that faculty & staff may attend Spring Semester Convocation.

JCC EverGREEN Committee Receives Spirit of Jefferson Award

(l-r) Matthew R. Lambert, James S. Juczak, Megan L. Pistolese, Tina M. Bartlett-Bearup, Bruce F. Alexander, Christina Ebey, Venkat Chebolu, Linda C. Dittrich

This year the Jefferson Community College (JCC) Spirit of Jefferson Award was presented to the EverGREEN Committee at the college’s annual Recognition Ceremony held on May 1, 2015. The Spirit of Jefferson Award was established by college president Carole A. McCoy in 2011 to recognize a campus team that demonstrates cooperative effort and achieves exemplary results. 

In 2009, the JCC EverGREEN Committee was formed to examine the array of environmental and climate issues important to the campus and community; to promote sustainability; and serve as a mentor for the JCC student Green Club. Over the past 6 years, the EverGREEN Committee has worked diligently to raise awareness of sustainability on campus and to promote sustainable activities. They developed and coordinate an annual Earth Week celebration consisting of daily activities ranging from lectures to biking and hiking, contests, and eco-action activities. The EverGREEN Committee organizes an annual Arbor Day tree planting ceremony and has partnered with Tree Watertown (Watertown's street tree advisory board) for the past two years securing tree planting sites on Jefferson’s campus. The EverGREEN committee has distributed and planted 2,000 tree seedlings in Jefferson and Lewis Counties in addition to planting 40 trees of 16 varying species on Jefferson’s campus in April 2015. In addition, the EverGREEN Committee developed an Arboretum Trail to provide students and visitors with an overview of the diverse species of trees that exist on campus. 

Taking into consideration the recommendation of the EverGREEN Committee and a request from the Green Club, President McCoy signed the American College and University Presidents Climate Commitment (ACUPCC) in 2012. The ACUPCC is an effort to address global climate disruption undertaken by a network of colleges and universities that have made institutional commitments to accelerate progress towards climate neutrality and sustainability.

In 2012, Jefferson was recognized as a Tree Campus USA college by the Arbor Day Foundation, a designation bestowed to college campuses committed to promoting healthy trees and engaging students in conservation goals.

EverGREEN Committee members are Matthew R. Lambert of Watertown, co-chair and transfer counselor at JCC; James S. Juczak of Adams Center, community member; Megan L. Pistolese of Watertown, Jefferson alumna;  Tina M. Bartlett-Bearup of Redwood, administrative assistant at JCC; Bruce F. Alexander of Dexter, co-chair and director of facilities at JCC; Christina Ebey of Brownville, geology instructor at JCC; Venkat Chebolu of Watertown, chemistry professor at JCC; Linda C. Dittrich of Watertown, associate vice president of the math/science, technology, health and business division at JCC; Monica G. LeClerc of Alexandria Bay, biology professor; Steven A. Porter of Grahamsville, energy program director; Robyn M. Rhyner of Sackets Harbor, assistant director of financial aid; and Dana L. Willbanks of Watertown, Faculty Student Association. 

Past recipients of the Spirit of Jefferson Award are JCC Women’s Organization (2011), Science Division (2012) for their Super Science Saturday event, Library Learning Center (2013) and JCC’s Relay for Life team (2014).