Tracking Pixel

Jefferson Community College Website

Spring Graduates of JCC Nursing Program Pinned

Front row (l-r): Jadah G. Scott of Watertown, Nichole L. Covell of Watertown, Pamela J. Brown of Adams Center, Hilary P. Jacobsen of Watertown

Back row (l-r): Samantha L. Martin of Fort Drum, Melissa M. Fulton of Cape Vincent, Felicia D. Butler of Watertown, Jennifer C. McCormick of Redwood, Brittany A. Duvall of Watertown, Jillian C. Hyde of LaFargeville, Jenelle S. Stine of Redwood, Megan K. Finucane of Watertown

Jefferson Community College (JCC) held its annual Pinning Ceremony for graduates of the College’s nursing program on May 19, 2016 in the College’s Sturtz Theater. Twelve candidates for the Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) degree in nursing were eligible to take part in this special program.

The “Pinning Ceremony” is a time-honored tradition at all institutions of higher education that offer degrees in nursing. The ceremony is symbolic of the transition from a student to entry into nursing as a profession. The pin is designed to be unique to each school of nursing. After being “pinned”, each student recites Florence Nightingale’s pledge.

During the Pinning Ceremony, JCC nursing students were honored for their outstanding achievements with the presentation of various awards.

The Debra R. Marsala Excellence in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who demonstrates dedication, excellence and passion for the profession of nursing, was awarded to Felicia D. Butler of Watertown.    

The Mercy Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Award, established to honor a senior nursing student who exemplifies excellence in caring and providing service to the sick, was awarded to Megan K. Finucane of Watertown.                                
Jadah G. Scott, Watertown, is the recipient of the Marion Brennon Personal Growth in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who perseveres in the nursing program while overcoming many personal challenges along the way.

The North Country Professional Nurses Association District 6 Award, bestowed upon an individual who demonstrates commitment to the nursing profession and leadership in a professional organization, was awarded to Hilary P. Jacobsen of Watertown.

Jenelle S. Stine, Redwood, is the recipient of the Samaritan Medical Center HEART Award which recognizes a student who consistently incorporates compassion and comfort measures during his/her care for patients.

The STAR Award in Memory of Dr. Walter S. Atkinson, bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated clinical and academic excellence and has consistently performed at the highest level, was awarded to Pamela J. Brown, Adams Center.

Two nursing students recognized for being inducted into JCC’s Tau Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the official international honor society for community colleges, were Felicia D. Butler and Hilary P. Jacobsen, both of Watertown.