Tracking Pixel

Jefferson Community College Website

JCC Honors Distinguished Alumni & Hall of Fame Inductees

JCC AlumniJCC Alumni

Jefferson Community College (JCC) held its annual Distinguished Alumni and Cannoneer Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on October 13, 2016. Three distinguished alumni were recognized for their professional achievement and exemplary commitment to their community and Jefferson Community College. The 1992 JCC women’s basketball team along with former coach John F. Penrose was inducted into the Cannoneer Hall of Fame for their outstanding athletic success and significant contributions to JCC’s athletic program.   

Distinguished AlumniDistinguished Alumni

The 2016 Distinguished Alumni honorees are (l-r) Susan M. Charley, Class of 1967, Dennis G. Quinn, Class of 1975, and Warren G. Fargo, Class of 2001. Charley, of Dyersburg, Tennessee, received the Professional Achievement Award for her significant professional growth, leadership abilities, and recognition for success. Quinn, of Carthage, received the Jeffersonian Award for his significant history of volunteerism, civic involvement, humanitarian undertakings and service to Jefferson Community College. Fargo, Carthage, received the Jeffersonian Award for his significant history of volunteerism, civic involvement, humanitarian undertakings and service to Jefferson Community College. 

Charley is employed by the Dyersburg State Community College (DSCC) where she serves as dean of the learning resource center across three DSCC campuses. She was recognized for excellence by the North Country Library System Board of Trustees in 1997, 2002, and again in 2006 in honor of her 30-years of dedicated service. Charley is a founding member of the Jeff-Lewis School Library System Advisory Council, past chair of Interlibrary Loan Committee and past member of Automation Committee of the Northern New York Library Network. She holds a bachelor’s degree from SUNY Oswego and graduated summa cum laude from the University of Buffalo with a Master of Library Science degree.  

Quinn, of Carthage, is serving in his 24th year and 6th term as town justice of the Town of Champion. He is a past member of the Town of Champion Planning Board, the 5th Judicial District Town/Village Advisory Committee, and the 5th Judicial Town/Village Peer Assistance Committee. In 2014-2015, Dennis served as president of the New York State Magistrates Association (NYSMA) in addition to 3-years serving as vice president. He has been employed by the Department of Defense, and served as acting village justice of the Village of West Carthage, Carthage, NY.  He holds an associate’s degree from Jefferson.

Fargo, of Carthage, graduated from Jefferson with an accounting degree and a business administration degree after retiring from a 37-year career as a dairy farmer. He is currently employed as an accountant by Frederick J. Quencer, CPA Brownville. Active in the community, Fargo volunteers his time at the River Valley Parrish, United Methodist Church, Brookhaven Home, and the Carthage Village Ecumenical Ministries as well as the JCC Alumni Association. He also serves as a Lay Minister at the Woolworth United Methodist Church. Warren has spent a lifetime serving his community through volunteerism.

Athletic Hall of FameAthletic Hall of Fame

This year inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame is the 1992 women’s basketball team and former coach John F. Penrose. The JCC women’s basketball team of 1992 brought home the College’s first National Junior College Athletic Association Region III championship and Mid-State Athletic Conference championship. Class of 2016 inductees are (front row l-r): Jill Bruce Wiley of Dexter, Rebecca L. Morgia of Depauville, and Diana C. Hadlock of Hammond, (back row l-r)  John F. Penrose of Watertown, Sonya A. Comins of Cortland, Amy Jo Leonard Sipher of Queensbury, Joy L. Zimmerman of Adams, Jennifer L. Richmond of Watertown, Wendy S. Howard of Cooperstown.

Since its inception in 2009, Jefferson has inducted 32 members into its Athletic Hall of Fame. 

Sponsored by Cricket, Liberty Mutual Insurance and Watertown Savings Bank.