Tracking Pixel

Jefferson Community College Website

Graduates of JCC Nursing Program Pinned - Weekend Scholars 2016

Nursing Pinning 2016Nursing Pinning 2016

Front row (l-r): Victoria R. Charrette, Fort Drum; Kelly A. Harrienger, Watertown; Jessica N. Howard, Three Mile Bay. Back row (l-r): Emily L. Etheridge, Black River; Katlyn M. Langford, Evans Mills; Stephanie A. Parks, Black River; Daniel W. Ladouceur, Ogdensburg; Andrea A. Denoncour, Carthage.

Jefferson Community College (JCC) held a Pinning Ceremony for weekend option graduates of the College’s nursing program on December 15, 2016 in the College’s Sturtz Theater. Eight candidates for the Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) degree in nursing were eligible to take part in this special program. JCC’s “Weekend Scholars” are students who, beginning in January of 2015, attended classes at JCC every other weekend on Fridays from 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Saturdays and Sundays.  The weekend, part-time format was developed in response to need in the community for more registered nurses and a more convenient way for more working adults to enter the healthcare field.

The “Pinning Ceremony” is a time-honored tradition at all institutions of higher education that offer degrees in nursing. The ceremony is symbolic of the transition from a student to entry into nursing as a profession. The pin is designed to be unique to each school of nursing. After being “pinned”, each student recites Florence Nightingale’s pledge.

During the Pinning Ceremony, JCC nursing students were honored for their outstanding achievements with the presentation of various awards.

Jessica N. Howard, Three Mile Bay, was the recipient of the Madalyne and Donald Hess Excellence in Nursing Award. This award is bestowed upon a graduating senior of the Weekend Scholar Nursing Program who demonstrated excellence in both the classroom and clinicalarea and will continue to hold the standards of the profession in high regard and be committed to providing excellent patient care. Howard is also a member of JCC’s Tau Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the official international honor society for community colleges.

The North Country Professional Nurses Association Award, bestowed upon an individual who demonstrates commitment to the nursing profession and leadership in a professional organization, was awarded to Andrea A. Denoncour, Carthage.

Emily L. Etheridge, Black River, and Kelly A. Harrienger, Watertown, are the recipients of the Samaritan Medical Center HEART Award which recognizes a student who consistently incorporates compassion and comfort measures during his/her care for patients.

The Marion Brennan Personal Growth in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who consistently strives to continue his/her education in nursing while meeting many challenges of personal stressors nevertheless persevering in the nursing program, was awarded to Katlyn M. Langford, Evans Mills, and Daniel W. Ladouceur, Ogdensburg.