Tracking Pixel

Jefferson Community College Website

Graduates of JCC's Nursing Program Pinned

Front row
(l-r): Alisa S. Hopkins of Fort Drum, Kylie M. Murphy of Black River, Carol L. Reichert of Chaumont, Sabrina A.M. Kane of Black River, Kodie D. Anderson of Watertown, Candice J. Gozalkowski of Watertown. Back row (l-r): Adrianne M. Isenbergh of Watertown, Amanda L. Rosen of Clayton, Angelic M. Lee of Carthage, Haley L. Reff of Clayton, Eric J. Maphey of Watertown, Michaela D. McCargar of Dexter, Ryan A. Schneider of Lowville, Leah M. Ruggaber of Williamstown, Kayla E. Farmer of Pulaski, Meaghen Catlin of Newfield. Unavailable for photo: Christopher M. Hague, Sr. of Watertown. Photo courtesy of Creative Imaging.

Jefferson Community College (JCC) held its annual Pinning Ceremony for graduates of the College’s nursing program on May 18, 2017 in the College’s Sturtz Theater. Seventeen (17) candidates for the Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) degree in nursing were eligible to take part in this special program.

The “Pinning Ceremony” is a time-honored tradition at all institutions of higher education that offer degrees in nursing. The ceremony is symbolic of the transition from a student to entry into nursing as a profession. The pin is designed to be unique to each school of nursing. After being “pinned”, each student recites Florence Nightingale’s pledge.

During the Pinning Ceremony, JCC nursing students were honored for their outstanding achievements with the presentation of various awards.

The Debra R. Marsala Excellence in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who demonstrates dedication, excellence and passion for the profession of nursing, was awarded to Eric John Maphey of Watertown.    

The Mercy Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Award, established to honor a senior nursing student who exemplifies excellence in caring and providing service to the sick, was awarded to Ryan Ashley Schneider of Lowville.                                  

Meaghen Catlin, Newfield, is the recipient of the Marion Brennon Personal Growth in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who perseveres in the nursing program while overcoming many personal challenges along the way.

The North Country Professional Nurses Association District 6 Award, bestowed upon an individual who demonstrates commitment to the nursing profession and leadership in a professional organization, was awarded to Carol Lynn Reichert of Chaumont.  

Kayla Elizabeth Farmer, Pulaski, is the recipient of the Samaritan Medical Center HEART Award which recognizes a student who consistently incorporates compassion and comfort measures during his/her care for patients.

The STAR Award in Memory of Dr. Walter S. Atkinson, bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated clinical and academic excellence and has consistently performed at the highest level, was awarded to Leah Marie Ruggaber, Williamstown.  

Three nursing students were recognized for being inducted into JCC’s Sigma Alpha Pi chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success - Sabrina A. Kane and Kylie Marie Murphy of Black River and Amanda Lynn Rosen of Clayton.