Graduates of JCC's Nursing Program Pinned
SUNY Jefferson
Schedule an Admissions Appointment

Graduates of JCC's Nursing Program Pinned

Published: August 13, 2019

Jefferson Community College (JCC) held its annual Pinning Ceremony for graduates of the College’s nursing program on May 16, 2019 in the College’s Sturtz Theater. Twenty-seven (27) candidates for the Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) degree in nursing were eligible to take part in this special program.

The “Pinning Ceremony” is a time-honored tradition at all institutions of higher education that offer degrees in nursing. The ceremony is symbolic of the transition from a student to entry into nursing as a profession. The pin is designed to be unique to each school of nursing. After being “pinned”, each student recites Florence Nightingale’s pledge.

During the Pinning Ceremony, JCC nursing students were honored for their outstanding achievements with the presentation of various awards.

The Debra R. Marsala Excellence in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who demonstrates dedication, excellence and passion for the profession of nursing, was awarded to Tabata S. Mandujano-Garcia, Calcium, and Natishia E. Mitchell, Lacona.

The Mercy Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Award, established to honor a senior nursing student who exemplifies excellence in caring and providing service to the sick, was awarded to Kathy D. Lambright, Philadelphia.

Rebeka E. Flansburg, Watertown, is the recipient of the Marion Brennan Personal Growth in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who perseveres in the nursing program while overcoming many personal challenges along the way.

Samantha M. Flory, Sandy Creek, is the recipient of the Samaritan Medical Center HEART Award which recognizes a student who consistently incorporates compassion and comfort measures during his/her care for patients.

The STAR Award in Memory of Dr. Walter S. Atkinson, bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated clinical and academic excellence and has consistently performed at the highest level, was awarded to Liana J. Monnat, Lowville.

Photo of Nurse Pinning Spring 2019

Bottom row (l-r): Ryley Lynn Rust of Dexter, Cassandra Leigh Byrn of Fort Drum, Kathy D. Lambright of Philadelphia, Ashlynn P. Kelley of Watertown, Elaine O. Ambrose of Mannsville, Megan H. Farda of Fort Drum

Second row (l-r): Morgan M. O’Hearn of Brownville, Crystal L. Nichols of Watertown, Emily J. Kellogg of Adams, Emma Faith Roberts of Copenhagen, Nicole C. Hurtado of Fort Drum, Mauri L. Kelley of Watertown, Tabitha K. Morua of Watertown

Third row (l-r): Casey L. Hughes of Watertown, Samantha M. Tyrell of Philadelphia, Maegan Anne Castle of Belleville, Samantha M. Flory of Sandy Creek, Jennifer L. Van Horn of Carthage, Tabata S. Mandujano-Garcia of Calcium

Top row (l-r): Frances N. Daly of Antwerp, Natalie Marie Puccia of Watertown, Taylor RuthAnne Piercey of Ogdensburg, Charlotte Joy Costantino of Clayton, Natishia E. Mitchell of Lacona, Susanna Rankins of Evans Mills, Rebeka E. Flansburg of Watertown, Liana J. Monnat of Lowville