2023 Annual Awards Ceremony
SUNY Jefferson
Schedule an Admissions Appointment

2023 Annual Awards Ceremony

Published: April 27, 2023

On Thursday, April 27, 2023, Jefferson Community College (JCC) honored students, faculty and staff at the College’s Annual Awards Ceremony. Students were honored for overall excellence and faculty and staff members were recognized in specific categories. Awards were presented by the School of Arts and Humanities; School of Education, Behavioral Sciences and Public Services; School of Business, Hospitality and Tourism; School of STEM and Health Professions; and campus-wide departments. For the third consecutive year, JCC’s Business, Leadership and Career Skills Club received the Outstanding Club of the Year Award.  Those with (#) following their names received more than one award. 

Student honorees are:  

Adams Center    
Emily Widrick - Outstanding Accounting A.A.S. Student

Alexandria Bay  
Dylan O'Connor - Outstanding Accounting A.S. Student

Black River     
Melissa R. Mueller - Outstanding Addiction Studies Student
Grace N. Thornthwaite - Outstanding Human Services Student

Makayla F. Norrs - Outstanding Educational Opportunity Program Ambassador 

Cape Vincent    
Lauren P. Rupp - Outstanding Hospitality and Tourism Student

Hannah E. Cooley - Outstanding Art Student

Kaela M. Mellowship - SUNY Chancellor's Award for Academic Excellence

Tara M. Rheaume - Outstanding TRIO (Strategies To Achieve Results) Participant

Joshua M. Rowe - Outstanding Student Government Association Assembly Member

Evans Mills     
Sierra M. Hartley - Outstanding Childhood Education Student

Fort Drum  
Yvette H. Lopez - Outstanding Statistics Student

Glen Park  
Benjamin DesJardins - Outstanding Mathematics Student     

Rachel A. Hunneyman - Outstanding Business A.S. Student (Jointly Registered Program with SUNY Potsdam)
Andrew P. Morrison - Outstanding Music Student
Erica L. Suschinski - Outstanding Collegiate Science & Technology Entry Program Ambassador 

Joseph W. Truax - Outstanding Engineering Student

Kalyna C. Bryant - Outstanding Educational Opportunity Program Ambassador 

Hallie J. Bain - Outstanding Paralegal Student

Sackets Harbor  
Brandon D. DeGuarde - Outstanding Business A.A.S. Student
Alan M. Wilson - Outstanding Computer Science Student
Sandy Creek     
Emma M. Halsey (#) - Outstanding Liberal Arts Student and Student Life Outstanding First-Year Student

Chase B. Carson - Outstanding Allied Health & Biological Sciences Student

Three Mile Bay  
Jenny L. Wendell - Looseleaf Law Certificate of Recognition

Hailey R. Hunt - Outstanding Physical Science Student
Emma M. King - Outstanding TRIO (Strategies To Achieve Results) Participant
Maryssa A. MacDonald - Outstanding Health Care Management Student
Rosaley Martinez - Outstanding Collegiate Science & Technology Entry Program Ambassador 
Joseph McNulty - Outstanding Physical Education Student
Jaren J. Peckham - Outstanding Criminal Justice Student
Asia J. Rutherford - David Reid Outstanding English Student
Paige M. Schultz (#) - Outstanding Psychology Student, Outstanding Honors Student, Phi Theta Kappa All New  York Academic First Team and Norman R. McConney, Jr. EOP Award for Student Excellence
Jacob A. Vecchio (#) - Outstanding Computer Information Technology Student and Student Life Outstanding Graduating Senior 

Guy S. Terry - Outstanding Zoo Technology Student


Colorado Springs, Colorado                 
Claudia Y. McVicker - Outstanding Early Childhood Student


Amherstview, Ontario, Canada                     
Kaylee-Lynn Brooke Beleza - SUNY Chancellor's Award for Academic Excellence

Faculty / Staff honorees are:  

Outstanding Club Advisor of the Year Award: 
Irene S. Wilder, Copenhagen, Advisor of the JCC Leadership, Business and Career Skills Club

Thomas W. Myers Award for Co-Curricular Service: 
Kathy J. Flanders, Clayton, Instructor, Biology 
Barbara Romano, Dexter, Adjunct Faculty, Biology

Phi Theta Kappa Outstanding Full-Time Faculty Member of the Year Award: 
Richard E. Merryman, Associate Professor, Accounting and Office Technologies

Phi Theta Kappa Outstanding Part-Time Faculty Member of the Year Award: 
Marie A. Hess, Professor Emerita, Nursing

Phi Theta Kappa Outstanding Staff Member Award: 
Margaret Taylor, Watertown, Director of Student Activities and Inclusion, Advisor of the Student Government Association, Campus Activities Board, JCC’s Tau Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and Sigma Alpha Pi Chapter of National Society of Leadership and Success


Related Articles

  • 2024 Recognition Celebration Honoring Chancellor's Award Recipients, Retirees, and Employee Achievements

    Jefferson Community College (JCC) held its Annual Recognition Celebration on Tuesday, May 21, 2024. The College observed nine faculty and staff retirees and honored the achievements of faculty and staff including: SUNY Chancellor's Award recipients, those reaching milestone years of service to the College, continuing appointments, promotions, and a sabbatical. Additionally, the 2024 Spirit of Jefferson Award recipient was announced.