Graduates of JCC's Nursing Program Pinned, Spring 2023
SUNY Jefferson
Schedule an Admissions Appointment

Graduates of JCC's Nursing Program Pinned, Spring 2023

Published: June 06, 2023

Jefferson Community College (JCC) held its annual Pinning Ceremony for graduates of the College’s nursing program on May 18, 2023 in the College’s Sturtz Theater. Thirty-three (33) candidates for the Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) degree in nursing were eligible to take part in this special program.

The “Pinning Ceremony” is a time-honored tradition at all institutions of higher education that offer degrees in nursing. The ceremony is symbolic of the transition from a student to entry into nursing as a profession. The pin is designed to be unique to each school of nursing. After being “pinned”, each student recites Florence Nightingale’s pledge. 

During the Pinning Ceremony, JCC nursing students were honored for their outstanding achievements with the presentation of various awards.

The Debra R. Marsala Excellence in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who demonstrates dedication, excellence and passion for the profession of nursing, was awarded to Samantha F. Sharp of Watertown. 

The Mercy Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Award, established to honor a senior nursing student who exemplifies excellence in caring and providing service to the sick, was awarded to Eldon Richard Kilpatrick of Watertown.  

Alexandra N. Greene of Copenhagen is the recipient of the Marion Brennan Personal Growth in Nursing Award, bestowed upon an individual who perseveres in the nursing program while overcoming many personal challenges along the way.

Victoria Lucas of Gouverneur is the recipient of the Samaritan Medical Center HEART Award which recognizes a student who consistently incorporates compassion and comfort measures during his/her care for patients.

The STAR Award in Memory of Dr. Walter S. Atkinson, bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated clinical and academic excellence and has consistently performed at the highest level, was awarded to Erica L. Suschinski of LaFargeville. 

Rebekah R. Newell of Henderson, a freshman nursing student, received the Bill and Kate McBride Family Nursing Award bestowed upon an individual who exemplifies merit in education, hard work, and self-sufficiency, values upheld by the McBride family. 

Image of Spring 2023 Nursing Graduates

Bottom row (l-r): Keilani Brianna Martinez of Watertown, Maggie Inavette Western of Philadelphia, Rosaley Martinez of Watertown, Savannah Chloe Johnson of Glenfield, My An Nguyen of Evans Mills, Jordan Alexia Adams of Watertown

Second row (l-r): Mikayla Jean White of Watertown, Hannah Elizabeth Reinhardt of Dexter, Haley Marie Delsanto of Watertown, Brianne Mitchell of Fort Drum, Samantha Francesca Sharp of Watertown, Kimberly R. Collins of Chaumont, Sarah Nadine Macerelli of Fort Drum

Third row (l-r): Danyelle Lynn Mono of Natural Bridge, Aniyah E. Henderson of Chaumont, Marlina Kathleen Parish of Carthage, Rikki Leigh Smith of Carthage, An Thuy Tam Nguyen of Watertown, Natalia Ososkalo of Sackets Harbor, Taylor Lynne Calhoun of Watertown, Alexandra Nicole Greene of Copenhagen

Top row (l-r): Jeremy Thomas Reff of Redwood, Kylie Saleen Vaughan of Hammond, Victoria Lucas of Gouverneur, Kathryn Joyce Carey of Watertown, Erica Leeanne Suschinski of LaFargeville, Eldon Richard Kilpatrick of Watertown, Kelsey Marie Larkins of Lowville, Joelle Adams of Fort Drum, Shabnam Na Rahim of Watertown, Heather Nichola Berry of Watertown 



Story by:

Pamela Dixon

Additional Information:

Public Relations Department, Jefferson Community College, (315) 786-2392, Email Public Relations

Related Articles

  • 2024 Recognition Celebration Honoring Chancellor's Award Recipients, Retirees, and Employee Achievements

    Jefferson Community College (JCC) held its Annual Recognition Celebration on Tuesday, May 21, 2024. The College observed nine faculty and staff retirees and honored the achievements of faculty and staff including: SUNY Chancellor's Award recipients, those reaching milestone years of service to the College, continuing appointments, promotions, and a sabbatical. Additionally, the 2024 Spirit of Jefferson Award recipient was announced.