2024 Annual Awards Ceremony
SUNY Jefferson
Schedule an Admissions Appointment

2024 Annual Awards Ceremony

Published: May 09, 2024

On Thursday, May 9, 2024 Jefferson Community College (JCC) honored students, faculty and staff at the College’s Annual Awards Ceremony. Students were honored for overall excellence and faculty and staff members were recognized in specific categories. Awards were presented by the School of Arts and Humanities; School of Education, Behavioral Sciences and Public Services; School of Business, Hospitality and Tourism; School of STEM and Health Professions; and campus-wide departments. The Jefferson hockey club received the Outstanding Club of the Year Award.  

Those with (#) following their names received more than one award. 

Student honorees are:  

Michelle Kellar - Outstanding Business A.S. Student (Jointly Registered Program with SUNY Potsdam)

Jahir Allah - Outstanding Educational Opportunity Program Ambassador   

Jacob King (#) - Outstanding Physical Science Student, Outstanding Student Government Association Member

Mason Archer - Outstanding Liberal Arts Student
Connor Covey - Outstanding Criminal Justice Student
Madison Compton - Outstanding Allied Health & Biological Sciences Student
Kendra Roggie - Outstanding Human Services Student
Christian Ruiz-Bosch - Outstanding Paralegal Student
Tiffany McCargar - Outstanding TRIO Participant (selection 2)
Allie Victorino - Outstanding Computer Science Student

Kody Daly - Outstanding Engineering Student     

Fort Drum  
Iesha Whyte - Outstanding Health Care Management Student    

Samantha Lewis - Outstanding Early Childhood Student

Tiffanie Perea - Outstanding Collegiate Science Technology Entry Program Ambassador 
Taylor Zubrzycki - Outstanding Mathematics and Statistics Student
Loralei Deasy - PTK All-New York Academic Team Award 

Natural Bridge  
Kathryne Alfredson - Outstanding Addiction Studies Student     

Adrian Rathbun - SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence     

Maggie Wilson - Outstanding Business Studies A.O.S. Student     

Sackets Harbor  
Rose Slate - David R. Reid Outstanding English Student
Sandy Creek     
Ashley Howland (#) - Outstanding Honors Student, Outstanding Childhood Education Student
Kristi Bushey (#) - PTK All-New York Academic Team, PTK/Coca-Cola New Century Workforce Scholar  
Emmanuel Garrick  (#)-PTK All-New York Academic Team, PTK/Coca-Cola Academic Team Silver Scholar      

Braelynn Appleby - Outstanding Educational Opportunity Program Ambassador
Fatoumata Dumeny - Outstanding Collegiate Science Technology Entry Program Ambassador 
Alana Mastin - Outstanding Physical Education Student
Ashton Matthews - SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence
Ben Ramer - Student Life Outstanding First-Year Student
Jadeline Ramirez - Outstanding Art Student
Ward Sampson - Outstanding Accounting A.A.S. Student
Jayden Vance-Mceachern (#) Outstanding TRIO Participant (selection 1), Outstanding Psychology Student,             Student Life Outstanding Graduating Senior

Faculty / Staff honorees are:  

Outstanding Club Advisor of the Year Award: 
Michael Ledoux, Watertown, Advisor of the JCC Hockey Club 

Thomas W. Myers Award for Co-Curricular Service:
Ronald Palmer, Watertown, Professor, Social Science

Phi Theta Kappa Outstanding Full-Time Faculty Member of the Year Award:
Timothy Grosse, Watertown, Professor, Mathematics 

Phi Theta Kappa Outstanding Part-Time Faculty Member of the Year Award: 
Lucinda Barbour, Adams Center, Adjunct Faculty, Humanities

Phi Theta Kappa Outstanding Staff Member Award: 
Courtney Bauer, Dexter, Senior Secretary 



Story by:

Pamela Dixon

Additional Information:

Public Relations Department, Jefferson Community College, (315) 786-2392, Email Public Relations

Related Articles

  • 2024 Recognition Celebration Honoring Chancellor's Award Recipients, Retirees, and Employee Achievements

    Jefferson Community College (JCC) held its Annual Recognition Celebration on Tuesday, May 21, 2024. The College observed nine faculty and staff retirees and honored the achievements of faculty and staff including: SUNY Chancellor's Award recipients, those reaching milestone years of service to the College, continuing appointments, promotions, and a sabbatical. Additionally, the 2024 Spirit of Jefferson Award recipient was announced.