JCC Resumes In-Person Annual Awards Ceremony
SUNY Jefferson
COVID-19 Resources and Information

JCC Resumes In-Person Annual Awards Ceremony

Published: May 02, 2022

On Thursday, April 28, 2022, Jefferson Community College (JCC) honored students, faculty and staff at the College’s Annual Awards Ceremony held in-person for the first time since the Covid-19 pandemic outbreak in 2020. Students were honored for overall excellence and faculty and staff members were recognized in specific categories. Awards were presented by the School of Arts and Humanities; School of Education, Behavioral Sciences and Public Services; School of Business and Hospitality & Tourism; School of STEM and Health Professions; and campus-wide departments. JCC’s Business Leadership and Career Skills Club received the Outstanding Club of the Year award.  

Those with (#) following their names received more than one award.

Student honorees are:  

Erica M. Eichner - Outstanding Chemical Dependency Student             

Adams Center   
Abigail L. Flint - Outstanding Physical Science Student         

Black River         
Riley A. Green - Outstanding Mathematics Student            

Alexandra M. Collins  - Outstanding Early Childhood Student              

Cape Vincent     
Kassandra L. Votra - Outstanding Psychology Student
Nevaeh A. Pearson-Lemuel - Looseleaf Law Certificate of Recognition Award
Eli R. Hall - Outstanding Criminal Justice Student                

Tanner R. Souva - Outstanding Computer Information Technology Student                

Katelyn E. LaMarche - Outstanding Music Student
Felts Mills           
Sarah K. Greene - Outstanding Accounting AAS Student
Fort Drum           
Yvette H. Lopez - Outstanding TRIO Participant
Jamila L. Martin - Outstanding CSTEP Ambassador
Jordan A. Flagg - SUNY Chancellor's Award for Academic Excellence                

Macalla A. Artis - Outstanding Office Technologies Student
New York            
Andrew G. Perrin - Outstanding Student Government Association Member
Cayla G. Bogner - Outstanding TRIO Participant
Katherine J. Claymore - Outstanding Paralegal Student
Port Leyden       
Lacey A. Seelman - Outstanding Business A.A.S. Student
Mikayla E. Matteson - Outstanding Childhood Education Student
Malachi R. Adkins(#) - Outstanding Statistics Student, Outstanding Honors Student, Outstanding Liberal Arts   Student and Phi Theta Kappa All New York Academic Team
Samantha A. Bearup - Outstanding Business A.S./SUNY Potsdam Student
Steven E. Chorma - Outstanding Zoo Technology Student
Lizangeris Cintron - Outstanding Educational Opportunity Program Ambassador
Justyce J. Countryman(#) - Outstanding Computer Science Student and Outstanding CSTEP Ambassador
Kristen M. Hosmer - David Reid Outstanding English Student
Mikayla Hutchins - Outstanding Hospitality and Tourism Student
Graceanne S. Minnick - Outstanding Business A.S. Student
Katherine A. Monteith(#) - Outstanding Honors Student and Phi Theta Kappa All New York Academic Team
Melinda V. Rivera - Outstanding Engineering Student
Paige M. Schultz - Outstanding Educational Opportunity Program Ambassador
Grace A. Seybert - Outstanding EMSL Graduating Student
Michael S. Shephard - Outstanding Human Services Student
Sarah Towles - Outstanding Allied Health/Biological Sciences Student
Alysa J. Van Epps - Outstanding Art Student
Jacob A. Vecchio - Outstanding EMSL First-Year Student
Bayleigh A. Woodard - Outstanding Physical Education Student
Mia Wright - Outstanding First-Year Student in Enrollment Services

Springfield, Virginia       
Shaun T. Johnston - Outstanding Sports Management Student

Faculty / Staff honorees are:  

Outstanding Club Advisor of the Year - 
Margaret Taylor, Watertown, Advisor of the Student Government Association, Campus Activities Board and JCC’s Tau Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Thomas W. Myers Award for Co-curricular Service - 
Gabrielle M. Thompson, Watertown, Director of Access and Opportunity Programs

Phi Theta Kappa Outstanding Full-time Faculty Member of the Year Award – 
Michael C. Guga, Dexter, Assistant Professor, Lab Science

Phi Theta Kappa Outstanding Part-time Faculty Member of the Year Award – 
Matthew A. Newland, Pierrefonds, Quebec, Canada, Adjunct Instructor, Humanities

Phi Theta Kappa Outstanding Staff Member -
Shaunna Arnold, Parish, Coordinator, Hospitality and Tourism Program



Story by:

Pamela Dixon

Additional Information:

Public Relations Department, Jefferson Community College, (315) 786-2392, Email Public Relations

Related Articles

  • SUNY Workforce Development Grant | Custom Training for Businesses

    Thanks to a State University of New York (SUNY) Workforce Development Training Grant, Jefferson Community College (JCC) is offering local businesses a 75% discount on customized training for their employees in areas including, but not limited to, technology, office management and organizational skills. Additionally, in many cases, the College can accommodate specific requests from employers.